Wake up early again because of jet lag and no idea how to get to the main event of my trip, Siem Reap. I overheard someone the first night talk about a direct bus from the northern bus terminal in Bangkok so I get a cab and head there.
When I enter the terminal something bizarre happens. Everyone gets hit with freeze ray and chanting music starts. It must've been the national anthem but even when you see that shit at a football game there's always someone rebelling. Not here 100% from everyone. I bet people stopped peeing when they heard it.
Of course the bus I want is sold out but there's space on the one to Poipet (border town). There is insane lady screaming and getting kicked out and dragging chairs with her the whole time I wait for the bus. Board bus and they give everyone snack boxes with shortbread cookies<3.
Our first pit stop I pee at an outside urinal. Very chill there should be more of these. More importantly I see my first Monster logos on a sticker pack so I buy it. We get back on the bus and leave a person behind but they run up to us at the first traffic light.
Bus drops us off at some godforsaken marketplace a mile from the actual border. Scam although I take my first tuk tuk to the border where I'm taken to an office where I get a shared taxi to Siem Reap. I stress though because I pay first and since when do you pay for a cab before you're in it.
Line after line to get across border but the people I'm sharing a cab with are the chilliest. Gabriella is from Bulgaria and her BF Alfredo is from Milan. I ask if they've been to Venice and they say no because if you go there before you're married you'll break up.
After border we take a bus another mile to a transit place where all the cars are at. More waiting ensues until our guy shows up. Finally leave but have to get gas. And the road to Siem Reap has seen better days. Two hours is advertised for the drive but it takes about three and a half.
I fall asleep at some point and wake up when we stop. Of course we're not at my hotel and there is tuk tuk waiting to take me (scam). I say bye to my fav couple and check in at the Golden Temple Villa.






No comments:
Post a Comment